Household Hazardous Waste Collection Event Scheduled in Chesterton on July 12, 2014

hazardous-waste-collection-eventThe Recycling and Waste Reduction District of Porter County will help Porter County residents safely dispose of their old pesticides, gasoline, CFLs and other products that contain corrosive, toxic, ignitable or reactive ingredients at the household hazardous waste collection event scheduled from 9:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. Saturday, July 12, at Westchester Intermediate School, 1050 S. 5th St., Chesterton.

HHW items accepted at this collection event include aerosol cans; anti-freeze; oil; batteries (household and automotive); corrosives; medications; mercury containing products (fluorescent tubes, CFLs, thermometers, thermostats, etc.); oil-based and latex paint, thinners and solvents; pesticides and other poisons; diesel fuel, kerosene, other flammable liquids; and ammunition. There will not be a gas can exchange at this event.

Explosives, asbestos, grill propane cylinders, containers larger than 30 gallons, commercial hazardous waste, controlled substances and radioactive materials, such as smoke detectors, will not be accepted.

Improper disposal of household hazardous wastes can include pouring them down the drain, on the ground, into storm sewers, or in some cases putting them out with the trash, which can pollute the environment and pose a threat to human health.

The last collection of 2014 is planned on Aug. 9, at Portage High School, 6450 E. Route 6. For more information on household hazardous waste collection events in Porter County, call the Recycling and Waste Reduction District of Porter County, 465-3694, or visit

Unused medications are also accepted any time at the following police departments: Valparaiso, 355 S. Washington St.; Chesterton, 790 Broadway; Portage, 2693 Irving St.; Hebron, 106 East Sigler St. (only available Mondays through Fridays, from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.); and Porter, 50 Francis St. No liquids or sharps are accepted.

Fluorescent tube lights and CFLs can be recycled at either Porter County public compost site: Valparaiso, 2150 W. Lincolnway, Mondays through Fridays, 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.; Saturdays, 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.; or Boone Grove, 546 S. 400 W., Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, noon - 5:00 p.m.; Saturdays, 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

The City of Hobart accepts latex paint donations from Porter County residents at its Department of Public Works site, 340 S. Shelby St., Mondays through Fridays, between 7:00 a.m. and 2:45 p.m.; and Saturdays, between 8:00 and 11:45 a.m.

The Recycling and Waste Reduction District of Porter County is a government agency dedicated to improving the environment and quality of life for Porter County residents by providing convenient, voluntary waste reduction programs.