Household Hazardous Waste Collection Event Scheduled in Chesterton

By: Recycling & Waste Reduction District of Porter County Last Updated: June 10, 2013

recycleThe Recycling and Waste Reduction District of Porter County will help Porter County residents safely dispose of their old pesticides, gasoline, CFLs and other products that contain corrosive, toxic, ignitable or reactive ingredients at the household hazardous waste collection event scheduled from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, July 6, at Westchester Intermediate School, 1050 S. 5th St., Chesterton.

The Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission also will be on hand to present new environmentally friendly 2.5-gallon gas cans to residents who bring in their old gas cans for disposal at the collection. Limit one new gas can per vehicle/family, while supplies last.

HHW items accepted at this collection event include aerosols; anti-freeze; oil; batteries (household and automotive); corrosives; prescription medications; mercury containing products (fluorescent tubes, CFLs, thermometers, thermostats, etc.); oil-based and latex paint, thinners and solvents; pesticides and other poisons; diesel fuel, gasoline, kerosene, other flammable liquids; and ammunition.

Explosives, asbestos, grill propane cylinders, containers larger than 30 gallons, commercial hazardous waste, controlled substances and radioactive materials, such as smoke detectors, will not be accepted.

Unused prescription medications are accepted anytime at the following police departments: Valparaiso, 355 S. Washington St.; Chesterton, 790 Broadway; Portage, 2693 Irving St.; Hebron, 106 East Sigler St. (only available Mondays through Fridays, from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.) -- no liquids or metal nasal spray bottles; and Porter, 50 Francis St. -- no liquids or liquid capsules.

Fluorescent tube lights and CFLs can be recycled at either Porter County public compost site: Valparaiso, 2150 W. Lincolnway, Mondays through Fridays, 9 a.m.-5 p.m., Saturdays, 9 a.m.-4 p.m.; Boone Grove, 546 S. 400 W., Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, noon-5 p.m., Saturdays, 9 a.m. - 4 p.m.

The City of Hobart accepts latex paint donations from Porter County residents at its Department of Public Works site, 340 S. Shelby St., Mondays through Fridays, between 7 a.m. and 2:45 p.m.; and Saturdays, between 8 and 11:45 a.m.

Improper disposal of household hazardous wastes can include pouring them down the drain, on the ground, into storm sewers, or in some cases putting them out with the trash, which can pollute the environment and pose a threat to human health.

Two additional collections are planned in 2013: Aug. 10 at Portage High School, 6450 E. Route 6; and Oct. 26 at old/closed Pines School, 1594 N. 500 East. For more information on household hazardous waste collection events in Porter County, call the Recycling and Waste Reduction District of Porter County, 465-3694, or visit

The Recycling and Waste Reduction District of Porter County is a government agency dedicated to improving the environment and quality of life for Porter County residents by providing convenient, voluntary waste reduction programs. The district promotes environmental stewardship among individuals and businesses through education programs, waste reduction services and other outreach programs to meet the statutory waste reduction goals set by the State of Indiana.