IBCA Rates Munster Best in Northwest Indiana

munster-mustangs-logoAccording to the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association, the Munster High School Mustangs will have the best boys basketball team in the area in 2013-14. The Mustangs were ranked ninth in the state by the IBCA, who released the results of their preseason poll Monday.

Munster garnered 185 total points, edging Bowman Academy's 127 for the highest rated team in Lake County. The Eagles' recent success in Class 1A and 2A will earn them a spot in the Class 3A postseason this year. Bowman was ranked 11th by the IBCA. 

Lake Central, ranked 18th, was the only other Northwest Indiana team recognized among the top 20 in the state. The Indians received 87 points in the poll.

Andrean, Chesterton, Crown Point, East Chicago Central, Bishop Noll, Merrillville, Marquette and Valparaiso were other area teams receiving votes in the poll.

Indianapolis Tech, who received 349 points and eight first place votes, was ranked number one overall. Carmel finished a close second, recording 348 points and 11 first place votes.

Rank, School, Points, First Place Votes

1, Indianapolis Tech, 349, 8

2, Carmel, 348, 11

3, Evansville Harrison, 300, 2

4, North Central (Indianapolis), 297

5, Greensburg, 295

6, Marion, 254

7, Columbus North, 253

8, Pike, 208

9, Munster, 185

10, Indianapolis Cathedral, 131

11, Bowman Academy, 127

12, Lawrence North, 117

13, Hamilton Southeastern, 110

14, Bloomington South, 109

15, Park Tudor, 104

16, Kokomo, 101

17, Jeffersonville, 97

18, Lake Central, 87

19, Guerin Catholic, 84

20, Ben Davis, 73

Other Schools Receiving Votes

Andrean, Barr-Reeve, Batesville, Benton Central, Bloomington North, Borden, Brebeuf Jesuit, Brownsburg, Brownstown Central, Carroll (Fort Wayne), Chesterton, Columbia City, Concord, Covington, Crown Point, East Chicago Central, Evansville Bosse, Evansville Central, Evansville F. J. Reitz, Evansville North, Evansville Memorial, Fort Wayne Concordia Lutheran, Fort Wayne North Side, Fort Wayne Northrop, Fort Wayne Snider, Frankfort, Franklin Central, Hammond Bishop Noll, Homestead, Indianapolis Scecina, Jay County, Lawrence Central, Linton-Stockton, Loogootee, McCutcheon, Merrillville, Michigan City Marquette, Mt. Vernon (Fortville), New Albany, New Haven, Noblesville, Penn, Plymouth, Richmond, South Bend Adams, South Bend Riley, South Bend Washington, Southport, Speedway, Valparaiso, Wapahani, Warren Central, Warsaw Community, West Lafayette