IU Northwest Press Release: IU Northwest¹s Monahan Named to NAIA All-American Team

IU_NorthwestC2B9s_Monahan_Named_to_NAIA_Al-1The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced the 2016 Division II Women’s Basketball All-America Teams on Thursday with Indiana University Northwest 5’9” junior guard, Nicki Monahan being named to the third team.

Monahan – also a third team selection last year – led the RedHawks to a 22-10 record this season, semifinal appearance in the A.I.I. Conference Championship Tournament and school-record Top 25 national-ranking for five weeks this past season. The Portage, Ind., native is the third IU Northwest student-athlete and seventh all-time selection (Sharon Houston four-times, Megan Holland) to receive All-American Recognition. The senior guard led the RedHawks in scoring in 2015-16 at 17.4 points per contest (522 total points in 30 games). She also ranked second on the team in rebounding per game (5.3) and ranked ninth nationally free throw percentage (.845) and fifteenth in three point field goal percentage (.415).

Monahan hit double-digit figures in 27 of 30 games this year, with two 30-plus point showings including a season-high 35 points in the A.I.I. Tournament semifinals. Monahan averaged 26.0 points and 8.0 rebounds per game in the three game tournament in Cedar Rapids, IA where she also surpassing 1.500 points for her college career.

Monahan, College of Saint Mary (Neb.) center Deaundra Young, and Brooke Ridley, Saint Francis (Ind.) highlight the repeat selections from last season. All three standouts are making their second-straight appearance on the first and third team. Olivet Nazarene’s (Ill.) Abbey Hengesbach was named the NAIA National Player of the Year.

Following the conclusion of the national championship final game, Marian (Ind.) head coach Katie Gearlds was named Coach of the Year. Gearlds, who is in her 3rd season with the Knights, guided her team to a 32-6 record en route the national title. The third-ranked team out of the Naismith Bracket took home the title after beating the lone No. 1 seed Southern Oregon, 59-48.

Click here to read more