Ivy Tech to Award $42,000 in Chancellors’ Scholarships

ivy-tech-2018 The Ivy Tech Foundation will present scholarships totaling approximately $42,000 at its 17th annual Chancellors’ Scholarship Fundraising Event on Thursday, Oct. 4, at Avalon Manor, 3550 E. U.S. Hwy. 30, Merrillville.

The evening will begin at 5:30 p.m. with a reception for scholarship recipients and a photo booth, followed by dinner at 7 p.m. Scholarships will be awarded following the dinner. In addition, Ivy Tech Community College’s local campuses will honor their Benefactor of the Year, Northern Indiana Public Service Company. Ivy Tech Foundation statewide President John Murphy will be a special guest.

Tickets cost $85, of which $45 is tax deductible, and can be purchased online at https://connect.ivytech.edu/chancellorsevent2018. Sponsor opportunities are available and include tickets and program book recognition. Deadline for reservations and ticket purchases is Thursday, Sept. 27. For more information, please contact Cindy Hall at 219-476-4710 or cjhall@ivytech.edu.

Proceeds support Ivy Tech’s Chancellors’ Scholarship Fund, benefiting Northwest Indiana students. The evening’s highlight will be the awarding of 28 scholarships to Ivy Tech students. The students’ names and areas of study are as follows:

Lake County campus (East Chicago): Brandon Becerra - Hospitality Administration; Judy Davern - Human Services; Toni Gaeta - Hospitality Administration; Gabriella Hill - General Studies; Elizabeth Horton - Human Services; Susan Mahan - Human Services; Aneesa Mayberry - Hospitality Administration; Stacie Parnell - Hospitality Administration; Cassandra Romero - Business Administration

Lake County campus (Gary and Crown Point): Abigail Doss – Medical Assisting; Myesha Logan – Nursing; Lisa Mongold - Early Childhood; Jacquelyn Nowicki - Physical Therapy Assisting; Erin Ryken - Health Care Support - Physical Therapy

Michigan City campus: Lorissa Clubb - Elementary Education; Lena Hall - Business Administration; Melissa Medina - Elementary Education; Sherry Ray - Business Administration

Valparaiso campus: Abdullah Alabdali – Accounting; Maijana Belokapa - Engineering Technology; Cassidy Brunicon - Surgical Technology; Melissa Casler - Health Care Support – Nursing; Suzanne Dodson - Industrial Technology; Madeline Garcia – Biology; Emily Homeier - Surgical Technology; Samuel Jasek - Criminal Justice; Casimir Rosinski – Nursing; Tina Tolson - Human Services