Ivy Tech to Award $43,500 in Chancellors’ Scholarships

Ivy Tech to Award $43,500 in Chancellors’ Scholarships

The Ivy Tech Foundation will present scholarships totaling $43,500 at its 18th annual Chancellors’ Scholarship fundraising event, “Celebrating Academic Achievement,” on Thursday, Oct. 3, at Avalon Manor, 3550 E. U.S. Hwy. 30, Merrillville.

The evening will begin at 5:30 p.m. with a reception for scholarship recipients. Guests will be entertained by the Acoustic Duo – Chris & Lou while creating lasting memories at a fabulous mirror photo booth and a sit-down dinner. Ivy Tech Community College’s local campuses will honor their Benefactor of the Year, the Duneland Health Council.

Cost per person is $85, of which $45 is tax-deductible, and can be purchased online at https://connect.ivytech.edu/chancellorsevent2019. Sponsor opportunities are available and include tickets and event brochure recognition. The deadline for reservations and ticket purchases is Monday, Sept. 30.  For more information, please contact Cindy Hall at 219-476-4710 or cjhall@ivytech.edu.

Proceeds support Ivy Tech’s Chancellors’ Scholarship Fund, benefiting Northwest Indiana students. The evening’s highlight will be the awarding of 29 scholarships to Ivy Tech students that have achieved a GPA of 3.75 or higher.  The students’ names and areas of study are as follows:

Lake County campus (East Chicago):

Elizabeth Burrell–Hospitality Administration; Joy Czech-Health Care Support-Nursing;

Jacob Delich-Liberal Arts; Michael Solberg-Human Services.

Lake County campus (Gary-Arts & Sciences Building and Crown Point):

Madeline Aviles- Early Childhood Education; Rachael Bright – Health Care Support–Nursing; Monica Butkiewicz – Business Administration; Rachel Faucher – Nursing; Megan Juchcinski - Physical Therapist Assistant; Gareth Keeble - Industrial Technology; Betty Koeing - Medical Assisting; Felicia Smith – Nursing; Shanee Tolbert – Psychology; Alejandra Velez Reyes - Nursing.

Valparaiso-Michigan City Campus (Michigan City):

Brandi Baird- Business Administration; Madison Gierke - Business Administration;

Jeremy Burba-Accounting

Valparaiso-Michigan City Campus (Valparaiso):

Melissa Barrie Lehmann - Paramedic Science; Kaylee Batzek - Health Care Support-Nursing; Brian Boedeker - Design technology; Harold Boone –Advanced Automation/Robotics; Jennifer Cronin-Johnson - Business Administration; Eric Jimenez - Computer Science; Raquel Ruiz – Paralegal; Mendee Stroud - Human Services; Kristy Volk - Industrial Technology; Elizabeth Watkins - Energy Technology; Madyson Wigley – Biology; Kortney Wilgus - Human Services.