Lake Michigan Marina and Shoreline Development Commission Elects Officers

NirpcGBLogocopyThe Lake Michigan Marina and Shoreline Development Commission (LMMSDC) met on August 15, 2013 at the NIRPC building in Portage. At Thursday’s meeting Michael Kuss, manager of the Michigan City Sanitary District representing the Mayor of Michigan City, was elected Chairman. Anthony Copeland, Mayor of East Chicago, was elected Vice Chairman, and Mayor Karen Freeman-Wilson of Gary was elected Treasurer.

The LMMSDC will meet again on October 3, 2013 at the NIRPC offices at 10:30 a.m.

The Commission was created by the Indiana General Assembly for the purpose of developing a comprehensive environmental master plan for redevelopment and development within the Lake Michigan corridor. Specifically, this Commission is charged with the duty to prepare a plan for: 1) remediation of environmental contamination; 2) account for economic and transportation issues relating to environmental contamination; and 3) establish priorities for development and redevelopment of qualifying properties. The Commission has 17 voting members and 8 nonvoting members representing Lake, LaPorte, and Porter Counties.