Merrillville’s Shawn Streck Named DAC MVP as All-Conference Wrestlers are Announced

By: Duneland Athletic Conference Last Updated: March 8, 2016

phs-wrestling-2015The Duneland Athletic Conference has named its 2015-16 All-Conference wrestlers in 14 different weight classes ranging from 106 pounds to 285. Portage led the way with five wrestlers named to the team followed by Crown Point with four, while Merrillville's Shawn Streck was named Conference MVP.

The full list is below:

2015-2016 All Duneland Conference Wrestling Team

Weight ClassWrestlerSchool
106Jacob Moran (8th State)Crown Point
113Rehan UribeCrown Point
120Johnathan MoranCrown Point
126Gaige Torres (State Runner-up)Portage
126Michael DeLaPena (4th State)Merrillville
132Kris Rumph (4th State)Portage
132Jack Tolin (6th State)Chesterton
138Daylan Schurg (4th State)Crown Point
138Tristan Dembowski (8th State)Valparaiso
145Kasper McIntosh (State Runner-up)Portage
152Steven Lawrence (State Runner-up)Portage
160Jacob Covaciu (State Champion)Merrillville
170Ismael CornejoPortage
182Andrew DavisonChesterton
195Lucas DavisonChesterton
195Jake Kleimola (State Champion)Lake Central
220Alex KukurugyaValparaiso
285Shawn Streck
(State Champion)

Most Valuable Wrestler: Shawn Streck Merrillville High School

Duneland Athletic Conference 2016-2016 Wrestling Final Standings
1st Crown Point
2nd Portage
3rd Chesterton
4th Valparaiso
5th Merrillville
6th Lake Central
7th LaPorte
8th Michigan City