Northwest Indiana Workforce Board Announces Officers and Members for 2018-19

Northwest Indiana Workforce Board Announces Officers and Members for 2018-19

Congratulations to the 2018-19 Northwest Indiana Workforce Board (NWIWB) slate of officers and board members. Election of the officers occurred during the NWIWB meeting on May 24, 2018. Members represent the counties of Jasper, Lake, La Porte, Newton, Porter, Pulaski, and Starke.

Comprised of business, education, labor, economic development, and community leaders, they facilitate connections to key resources in the workforce and education arena, while convening and working to determine current and future skill needs along with their economic development, education, and employer partners. In addition, they are responsible for carrying out the strategic vision of workforce development and governance of the region’s WorkOne system. The Northwest Indiana Workforce Board’s new officers are as follows:

  • Chair-Mary Lewis, Corporate Controller of Andover Management/In Good Company Vice Chair-Debi Baughman, Director of Training with Horizon Bank
  • Treasurer-Gary Olund, President & CEO of Northwest Indiana Community Action
  • Secretary-Frank Cardello Chief Financial Officer of Packaging Logic, Inc.


  • Mike Barnes-Assoc. COO Employer Engagement, IN Dept of Workforce Development
  • Jim Clarida-President & Business Representative, IBEW Local 531
  • Adam Collins-Vice President of Operations, Kruz, Inc.
  • Kim DeQuis-Regional Manager, Family & Social Services Administration
  • George Douglas-Senior Vice President of Operations, Indiana Beverage
  • Matt Franklin-Vice President-TV Operations, Lakeshore Public Media
  • Ric Frataccia-Superintendent, Valparaiso Community Schools
  • Rich Gamblin-Apprenticeship/Training Coordinator, Ironworker Local 395
  • R. Luis Gonzalez-Chancellor, Ivy Tech Community College
  • Clausell Harding-Adult Education Director, A.K. Smith Center
  • Keith Kirkpatrick-Owner, KPM Group
  • Karen Kopka-Senior Human Resources Manager, American Licorice Company
  • Kristine Lukowski-Human Resources Manager, Republic Services
  • Joseph Medellin-Manager Human Resources, ArcelorMittal
  • Gary Miller-Chief Executive Officer, Prompt Ambulance
  • Arlene Pearson-Chief Human Resources Officer, Edgewater Systems
  • Barbara Sacha-Labor Relations Manager, ArcelorMittal
  • Ben Scheiner-Vice President Manufacturing,Galfab
  • Chris Smith-Vice President-Human Resources, NiSource
  • Africa Tarver-Executive Director of Planning & Development, City of Hammond
  • Lori Tubbs-President, Commercial Advantage
  • Brenda Walters-Human Resources Director, Wastequip
  • Staff to Board: Linda Woloshansky, President & CEO, Center of Workforce Innovations

For more information about the Board, call 219-462-2940