PNC Scholarship Winners and Donors

By: Purdue University Northwest Last Updated: May 21, 2012

A number of Purdue University North Central students benefitted from a variety of scholarships and endowments awarded for the recently completed 2011 - 2012 academic year.

Visit the PNC Website
1401 S US 421
Westville, IN 46391
Phone: 219-785-5200

The scholarships and the award winners are:

PNC Administrative and Professional Staff Advisory Committee Dependent Scholarship - Janelle Taylor, LaPorte; Ty Robey, Porter.

Pat Bednar Softball Scholarship - Karissa Inglis, Chesterton; Lindsay Gernenz, Westville.

Barbara Bell Blake Nursing Scholarship - for LaPorte County residents who are graduates of a United States high school and are pursuing a degree in Nursing at Purdue North Central - Toni Jackson, LaPorte.

Michael Todd Bell Mechanical Engineering Scholarship - for Indiana residents, with a preference for La Porte County residents, with at least one semester of study and at least a 3.5 cumulative GPA - Joseph Yagelski, Michigan City; Kai Justice, Wheatfield.

Lucille & Gayle Bluhm Scholarship Fund - supports students primarily in the School of Nursing at PNC - Deborah Boshart, Valparaiso; Chasidy Garrett, Walkerton; Jennifer Tindall, Chesterton; Breann Rentschler, Wheatfield; Dana Hooten, North Liberty.

Anita Bowser Scholarship Fund - for students in the Department of Social Sciences in the College of Liberal Arts - Mishelle Bergeron, Plymouth.

Valerie H. Brady Scholarship - for students majoring in Engineering or Engineering Technology with a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or better - Kai Justice, Wheatfield.

Virginia Mueleman Brelje Memorial Scholarship - a merit-based scholarship for junior and senior English majors at PNC - Kristen Sheldon, New Buffalo.

Robert L. Carr Jr., Memorial Scholarship - supports undergraduate scholarships for PNC Nursing students - JoAnna Curless, Knox.

A. J. Del Vecchio Endowment Fund/ Duneland Health Council Faculty Scholarship Fund for Nursing - is a Founders' Award for Nursing Excellence - Heather Correa, Westville.

Patricia M. Daly Scholarship - for students majoring in Nursing at PNC - Amber Mattraw, North Judson.

Duneland Health Council Scholarship - supports undergraduate scholarships for PNC Nursing students - Tiffany Burrell, Michigan City; Melissa Redlin, La Porte; Toni Jackson, LaPorte; Juli Pritchard, Michigan City; Rebecca Ehrick, La Porte Nicole Lindstrom, Michigan City; Heather Correa, Westville; Haley Roberts, LaPorte; Emily Arney, Hobart.

Dworkin Family Scholarship -a scholarship presented based on need and merit for undergraduate students - Marc Brown, Culver.

Michael J. Harrigan Memorial Scholarship - a merit scholarship for PNC undergraduate students - Mara Adams, Portage.

Michael Kasper Memorial Scholarship - awarded to an undergraduate student of high academic standing who is studying elementary education and who will student teach during the following academic year - Brandi Nay, Valparaiso.

Sandra Calkins Kowalski Community Nursing Fund - supports scholarships for students pursuing an undergraduate Nursing degree with emphasis on community nursing or public health - Nikkole Stagowski, Crown Point.

Jerome A. Hyndman Endowed Scholarship for Construction Management and Engineering Technology - for PNC undergraduate students in the Construction Management and Engineering Technology and residents of La Porte County or Porter County - Kristen Kroening, La Porte.

Barbara and Bernie Lootens Scholarship - support for continuing undergraduate students at PNC majoring in Liberal Arts or Humanities - Mishelle Bergeron, Plymouth.

Rowley Bushue & Company LLP - for PNC Business students with a concentration in accounting - Christi Strom, Valparaiso.

Ruth Mitnick Memorial Scholarship - for PNC Nursing students - Kristine Hawa, Michigan City; Nicole Lindstrom, Michigan City.

Harold C. Moran Memorial Scholarship - for students with at least a 3.0 GPA - Ryan Gish, Valparaiso.

Patrick J. and Jacqueline E. Mulchay Scholarship - for PNC undergraduate students majoring in Nursing or healthcare profession - Jessica Peterson, Valparaiso.

Murdock-Woodard Scholarship - for students in the upper ten percent of their graduating class - Nicole Bender, Crown Point; Kyle Galloway, Chesterton.

Robert and Betty Jane Schwarz Scholarship - established in honor of Robert F. Schwarz, who was instrumental in the founding of the PNC campus and Betty Jane Schwarz - Cassandra Chester, Valparaiso.

William S. and Kathryn L. Shields Scholarship for the Education of Healthcare Professionals - for PNC students pursuing a degree in nursing or other healthcare profession - Jennifer Smith, Valparaiso; Danielle Short, Hobart.

John J. Stanfield Scholarship - For PNC students majoring in English - Marc Brown, Culver.

Fran Suitor Memorial Scholarship for Non-Traditional Students - awarded to students who are sophomores or above with a minimum of a 3.0 GPA. Preference is given to non-traditional students - Rebecca Zurawski, LaPorte.

Selena M. Taliaferro Memorial Scholarship - awarded to PNC undergraduates majoring in English - Emily Smick, Valparaiso.

Meredith and Helen Tom Scholarship - for PNC undergraduate Elementary Education majors - Sarah Redmond, Valparaiso.

Van Eekeren Family Scholarship - for PNC undergraduate students - Sharon Glaze, North Judson; Shelbi Smith, La Porte.

Dorothy Verdos Nursing Scholarship - supports undergraduate scholarships for PNC Nursing students - Juli Pritchard, Michigan City.

Purdue North Central Alumni Association Endowed Scholarship - KD Chapman, Brook

Women's Women In Engineering & Technology Scholarship - for students in the PNC College of Engineering and Technology - Claudia Winter, La Porte.

Pokagon Fund Endowed Scholarship - for a student residing in the townships of New Buffalo, Three Oaks and Chikaming or in the state of Michigan - Raminta Bukeleviciute, New Buffalo; Kristen Sheldon, New Buffalo.

PNC 2010 Senior Class Scholarship - established by outgoing seniors in the class of 2010 - Robin Dietrich, Francesville.

Connecting Mathematics for Elementary Teachers (CMET) Scholarship - for a Department of Education full-time sophomore student enrolled in class using the text "Connecting Mathematics for Elementary Teachers" - Elise Gustafson, Valparaiso.

James Wellnitz Memorial Scholarship - for PNC undergraduate students majoring in Organizational Leadership and Supervision - Stephanie Beal, Michigan City.