Substance Abuse Council Announces New Board Members

Substance-Abuse-Council-Announces-New-Board-MembersThe Porter County Substance Abuse Council, the county’s oldest coalition working to reduce substance abuse, announces its new Board of Directors. The new members include a business owner, two police officers, a halfway house co-founder and executive director, a treatment administrator, two probation officers, a long-time concerned community member and a health educator. The new board members were elected by the coalition members at their annual meeting on December 11th and formally installed at the Board’s annual meeting on December 18.

The new board members are: Jaime Bauer, Positive Approach to Teen Health, Tim Beach, Ogden Dunes Police Department, Chris Buyer, Juvenile Probation, Larry LaFlower, Porter County Sheriff’s Department, Lita Peters, Respite House, April Russ, Adult Probation, Jacquelyn Sterling, Red Ribbon Campaign, Tracy Traut, PACT, and Michelle Volk, Great Lakes Labs.

Officers were elected at the meeting. Michelle Volk will serve as President, Larry LaFlower as Vice President, Jaime Bauer as Secretary and Chris Buyer as Treasurer.

President Volk shared, “I am honored to serve as President on the board of the Porter County Substance Abuse Council. This organization is the oldest council of its kind in Porter County. Representation and commitment of its members from education, treatment, justice, and private sector are tantamount to the longevity and continuation of our mission. I would like to welcome any citizen of Porter County to join one of our many committees.”

The next meeting of the Substance Abuse Council will be Thursday, January 8, at 7:30 a.m. The meeting will be held at the Porter County Sheriff’s Department. The public is welcome.