Thomas Jefferson Middle School Top Spellers

By: Thomas Jefferson Middle School Last Updated: January 12, 2010

Thomas Jefferson Middle School won its third straight Indiana Academic Spell Bowl championship in November at Purdue University. The team scored an earlier three-peat from 2002 to 2004. The team coaches are Jane Strayer and Terry Diedrich.

Pictured, from left to right, are:

First row: Reggie Hopton, Erin Brown, Madeline Shepley, Alena Tonne, Maddie Hathoot, Ankur Dhoot, and Timothy Henderson.

Second row: Jane Tullis, Samantha Young, Jonathan Poholarz, Peter Williams, Grace Johnson, and Katie Janoski.

Third row: Coach Jane Strayer, Mackenzie O'Conner, Bria Walker, Ricardo Rosario, Kathryn Berger, Blake Schroeder, Coach Terry Diedrich and Principal Paul Knauff.

Back row: Moira Barrett, Nikki Kouknas, Kyle Balmer, Autumn Venekamp, Ben Lawson, Mark Davidson, and Jacob Mills.