Valpo Appoints Endowed Professor of Management

Valpo Appoints Endowed Professor of Management

Valparaiso University announces that Matthew Luth, Ph.D., associate professor of management, has been awarded the Herbert H. and Agnes S. Schulz Endowed Professorship in Management.

“Endowed professorships are made possible by generous donors, and they support and shape the faculty of our future” said Eric W. Johnson ’87, Ph.D., interim provost and vice president for academic affairs. “Professors named to these positions exemplify the best Valparaiso University has to offer to our students and academic community.”

The Herbert and Agnes Schulz Endowed Professor in Management was established by Carol ’52 and Harvey Lange ’87H in honor of Carol’s parents. The endowed professorship includes a stipend to support research expenses and professional development.

“The best thing the Herbert H. and Agnes S. Schulz Endowed Professorship in Management provides for my research is the opportunity to pursue scholarly works and a stipend to support presenting my research at conferences and aid in data collection,” Luth said.

Luth’s research concerns the study of positive behaviors, experiences and attributes of organizations and their members. This falls into three categories — positive organizational scholarship, organizational ethics and training and education — which he will examine more thoroughly thanks to this award.

“The College of Business is incredibly thankful for the generous support of Carol and Harvey for creating this endowed professorship,” said Niclas L. Erhardt, Ph.D., dean of the College of Business. “It will allow Professor Luth and all our endowed professors to continue researching meaningful and innovative topics that offer cutting-edge education to our students at Valpo.”

Luth joins other endowed professors in Valpo’s College of Business, including Musa Pinar, Ph.D., Paul H. Brandt Professor of Business; Sanjay Kumar, Ph.D., Richard E. Meier Endowed Professor of Management; and Beth Gingerich, J.D., Louis S. and Mary L. Morgal Endowed Chair in Christian Business Ethics and W.A. Roper and Susan Morgal Vaughan Chair in Christian Business Ethics.