Valpo Basketball schedules finalized as MVC unveils conference slate

By: Valparaiso University Last Updated: September 3, 2019

Valpo men’s and women’s basketball finalized their respective schedules for the upcoming 2019-20 season as the Missouri Valley Conference office released the conference slate on Tuesday.

The men’s 18-game double round-robin begins with a Monday, Dec. 30 conference opener against nearby foe Loyola at the Athletics-Recreation Center. Valpo will play its final home game of the season on Tuesday, Feb. 25 against Missouri State before visiting Indiana State on Saturday, Feb. 29 to close out the regular season. The 2020 State Farm MVC Tournament will begin on Thursday, March 5 in St. Louis.

The Valpo men will battle defending conference tournament champion Bradley on Wednesday, Jan. 29 in Peoria and Saturday, Feb. 22 at the ARC. The home portion of the men’s conference slate features four Saturday games plus one Sunday contest.

The women’s MVC double round-robin slate, featuring home and road games against each of the other nine Valley schools, opens at home on Friday, Jan. 3 as Valpo hosts Southern Illinois at the ARC. The home schedule comes to a close as the calendar turns to March, as Valpo hosts UNI on Friday, Feb. 28 and Drake on Sunday, March 1, while the regular season ends the next Saturday, March 7 at Southern Illinois. The 18-game MVC schedule leads into Hoops in the Heartland in Moline, Ill., March 12-15.

Game times for the men’s home games will be set once the MVC television packages have been determined. All women’s Monday-Friday home games will tip off at 6 p.m., and all weekend home games will tip at 1 p.m.