Valpo White Sox Win 2013 Chuck Connors District 1 Little League Title

By: Rob Zborowski Last Updated: June 10, 2013

valpo-whitesox-2013On Tuesday, June 4th, the Valpo White Sox defeated the Valpo Diamondbacks 3-2 at South Haven Little League to win the 2013 Chuck Connors Tournament. 42 teams participated in the annual single elimination tournament, which is comprised primarily of 11&12 year old (Major Division) little league teams from throughout Northwest Indiana.

Matt Lahey pitched a complete game 3 hitter, for the win, striking out 8 while walking only 1 batter. Lahey surrendered a 2 run home run to Ronny Morey in the 4th for the Diamondbacks only runs. Trailing 2-1 in the bottom of the 5th inning, Connor Brinson singled with two outs. Lahey then tripled home Brinson to tie the score at 2.

After a walk to Zack Zborowski, Logan Mersman hit a sharp single to right center field to score Lahey and put the White Sox ahead 3-2. Lahey then retired the Diamondbacks 1-2-3 in the 6th to secure the win. On the season, the White Sox are undefeated in 15 games, with a record of 13-0-2. Their season concludes the week of June 23rd with the Valpo Americans Little League in house tournament.

Team members are: Front row - Connor Brinson. Standing (left to right): Logan Mersman, Christian Delgado, Carter Walworth, Logan Davidson, Zack Zborowski, Hayden Kaminski, Matt Lahey, Brandon Daniels, Jaedan Hufford and Max Isley. The team is coached by Rob Zborowski, Kevin Brinson and Rick Lahey.