79 Players Selected IBCA 2016-17 First-Team Academic All-State

By: Indiana Basketball Coaches Association Last Updated: March 13, 2017

40 boys, 39 girls receive top honor; 315 additional players cited as Honorable Mention

Seventy-nine Indiana high school seniors -- 40 boys and 39 girls -- have been chosen as first-team Academic All-State by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association, it was announced Thursday (March 9).

In addition, 154 more boys and 161 more girls were recognized as honorable mention Academic All-State for 2017, IBCA executive director Steve Witty said. The IBCA Academic All-State team is a program where academic prowess and athletic prowess both are considered in the selections. Items such as grade-point average, college board scores and academic class rank are considered along with athletic performance in areas such as points per game, rebounds per game and assists per game.

"The quality of these student-athletes shows that success in academics and success in athletics are not separate entities," Witty said. "Rather, in many cases, a player's success in the classroom directly contributes to his or her success on the floor."

IBCA-member head coaches from schools across the state may nominate their seniors who meet criteria that include a 3.5 GPA or higher on a 4.0 scale, a class rank in the upper 25 percent of one's class, an SAT score of 1,100 (on the reading and math sections) or an ACT score of 24.

Once nominations are received, an IBCA committee reviews the information and determines awards for first team and honorable mention.

Those selected will receive certificates from the IBCA for their honor. Those certificates will be distributed to coaches at the IBCA Spring Clinic on April 21-22 in Indianapolis. The coaches then present the certificates to the honored players after they return from the clinic.

The IBCA has selected an Academic All-State team for boys since 1973. The program was expanded to include a girls' Academic All-State team in 1980.


Name  School   Coach 
Mark Albers  Pendleton Heights  Kevin Bates
Adam Beasley  Crawford County  Levi Carmichael
Aaron Bennett  Westfield  Shane Sumpter
 Zach Callahan  Danville  Brian Barber
 Jack DeGroot  Winamac  Kyle Johnson
 James Donovan  Fort Wayne Dwenger  Travis Daugherty
 Mike Ertel Mt. Vernon (Fortville) Travis Daugherty
 Alec Eurit  Lewis Cass  Jon Kitchel
 Brady Ewing  East Central  David Disbro
 Nick Felke  Plymouth  Ryan Bales
 Max Flinchum  Noblesville  Brian McCauley
 Matthew Godfrey  Guerin Catholic  Pete Smith
 Jared Grabau  South Adams  Andrew Brown
 Devin Guard  Crawfordsville  David Pierce
 Josh Hall  Bloomington South  J.R. Holmes
 Cody Holmes  Northfield  Patrick Hopkins
 Jay Houck  Jay County  Chris Krieg
 Shea Ingles  Cowan  Lee Ingles
 Matt Jennings  Logansport  Pat Skaggs
Trevor Lengacher  Barr-Reeve  Bryan Hughes
 Kyle Mangas  Warsaw  Doug Ogle
Miles Matthews  Charlestown  Jason Connell
 Mitchell Meagher  Scottsburg  Brent Jameson
 Blake Miller  Rossville  Cortney Dunn
 Tyler Nottingham  Jasper John Goebel
 Jack Nunge  Castle  Brian Gibson
 Logan Pentecost  Fremont  John Wysong
 Erik Ralph  Chesterton  Marc Urban
 Logan Sanford  Union County  Mark Detweiler
 Cody Shively  Norwell  Mike McBride
 Joe Smith  Elkhart Memorial  Kyle Sears
 Jordan Smith  Hanover Central  Bryon Clouse
 Matthew Stephens  Washington  Gene Miiller
 Marcus Teeter  South Adams  Andrew Brown
 Jacob Thompson  Eastside  Ryan Abbott
 Austin Trump  Northfield  Patrick Hopkins
 Tyler Vogel  Jennings County  Josh Land
 Mitchell Walters  Goshen  Michael Wohlford
 Sterling Weatherford  Hamilton Heights  Chad Ballenger
 Jordan Yoder  Eastside  Ryan Abbott


Name School  Coach
Chloe Bartley Wood Memorial Johnnie Bartley
Sidnie Bienz Heritage Melissa Connor
Marina Blackwell Bloomington South Larry Winters
Riley Blackwell Plainfield Curt Benge
Ally Brandenstein North Posey Larry Kahle
Corryn Caudy East Central Kevin Moore
Abby Cecil North Daviess Jeff Wickersham
Emma DeHart Southport Bart Collins
Abby Denham White River Valley Mark Graves
Courtney Dunlap Argos Gary Teel
Kylie Fehrman Lake Central Joe Huppenthal
Stacy Fox South Decatur Kelly Fox
Bailey Gasser Delphi Rainey Jones
Sidney Gerkin Jennings County Kristi Sigler
Dayton Groninger Warsaw Michelle Harter
Callie Gubera Western Boone Rich Schelsky
Lauren James Seymour Jason Longmeier
Kylei Klein Cambridge City Lincoln Rob Bills
 Lindsy Kline  Penn  Kristi Ulrich
 Camryn Kopka  Winamac  Jeff Wagner
 Rylee Lane  Delphi  Rainey Jones
 Abby May  Silver Creek  Scott Schoen
 Rachel McLimore  Zionsville  Andy Maguire
 Marci Miller  Northridge  Doug Springer
 Faith Morris  Blackford  Jack Norton
 Megan Newby  Garrett  Bob Lapadot
 Madisen Parker  Homestead  Rod Parker
 Stacy Payton  Northview  Zach Keyes
 Claire Rauck  Providence  Brad Burden
 Micaya Richardson  Delta  Andy Lewman
 Anne Secrest  Tippecanoe Valley  Chris Kindig
 Carli Skinner  Cowan  John Skinner
 Taylor Steele  Highland  Tracie Mezera-Juarez
 Kyannah Stull  John Glenn  Kyle Amo
 Tori Styers  Culver Academy  Gary Christlieb
 Sydney Taylor  Crown Point  Chris Seibert
Savanna Thompson Lewis Cass Mike Collins
Claire Whalen Roncalli Stan Benge
Madison Wise Greenfield-Central Doug Laker

Click here for a list of honorable mentions!