Indiana Chamber of Commerce Announces Government Leader of the Year

By: Indiana Chamber of Commerce Last Updated: November 10, 2010

Government Leader of the Year
IIndianaChamber_clr.gifndiana Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Bennett has instituted a variety of education reforms in his two years in the office, including a grading scale for schools, and is working to ensure schools reward teachers based on their impact in the classroom. Instead of trying to figure out how to get more money for education, he’s directing schools to use their money more wisely – and in the classroom. Bennett scoffs at critics who claim he’s moving too far, too fast; he continues full steam ahead with his singular focus of how educators “can do a better job for our kids.”

Among some of Bennett’s future goals for Hoosier students: 90% passing ISTEP tests and end-of-course assessments, 25% earn a passing score on at least one Advanced Placement or International Baccalaureate exam and 90% graduating from high school.

Government Leader of the Year

Stan Jones, former state commissioner for higher ed. – 2009
Gov. Joe Kernan and Chief Justice of the Indiana Supreme Court Randall Shepard – 2008
Mayor Graham Richard – 2007
Gov. Mitch Daniels – 2006
Sen. Earline Rogers and Rep. Jerry Torr – 2005
Sen. David Ford and Rep. Brian Hasler – 2004
Rep. B. Patrick Bauer and Rep. Brian Bosma – 2003
Sen. Larry Borst – 2002
Gov. Frank O’Bannon and Supt. of Public Instruction Suellen Reed – 2001
Rep. Jeff Linder – 2000
Rep. Bob Behning – 1999
Sen. Teresa Lubbers – 1998
U.S. Rep. Lee Hamilton – 1997
U.S. Rep. David McIntosh – 1996
Rep. Michael Smith and Sen. Thomas Weatherwax – 1995
Rep. Paul Mannweiler – 1994
Sen. Morris Mills – 1993
Hon. Thomas Barnes – 1992
Sen. Joseph Harrison – 1991
U.S. Sen. Richard Lugar – 1990