FRANCISCAN HEALTH DIABETES PREVENTION PROGRAM Virtual Information Session

FRANCISCAN HEALTH DIABETES PREVENTION PROGRAM Virtual Information Session

Event Information

10:29pm - 10:29pm

Franciscan Health is offering prediabetic patients the opportunity to help prevent or delay type 2 diabetes with its year-long Diabetes Prevention Program.

Franciscan Health’s 12-month virtual Diabetes Prevention Program follows guidelines recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention that have proven to prevent or delay type 2 diabetes.

Throughout the course of the program, participants work with a certified healthy lifestyle coach who guides them in practices to help build energy and confidence, lose weight naturally and reduce stress and anxiety.

Program goals include reducing body weight by 5 to 7 percent and increasing physical activity to 150 minutes per week.

The program is only open to participants 18 and older who have been diagnosed as prediabetic, not those who have previously been diagnosed with type 1 or type 2 diabetes. They must also have a body mass index greater than 25. Those who had a previous diagnosis of gestational diabetes or a screening result indicating a high risk of type 2 diabetes are also eligible to participate.

A free virtual information session will be held on Monday, Nov. 20 at 5 p.m. Central/6 p.m. Eastern. Registration for the informational session is available online. To register for the class, which begins Nov. 28 and continues every Tuesday from 5-6 p.m. Central/6-7 p.m. Eastern, contact Amy Lambert at amy.lambert@franciscanalliance.org.

Franciscan Health

2050 N Main Street Suite B
Crown Point, IN 46307
Visit Profile