Boone Grove Drop-Off Recycling Containers Move

recycleThe Recycling and Waste Reduction District of Porter County has temporarily relocated the drop-off recycling containers originally sited at the Boone Grove Fire Department, 319 West 550 South.

The containers are now located one half block west of the original site across from Boone Grove Elementary/Jr. High School, between Lucretia and Ida Streets. The containers will move back to the 319 West 550 South location after work on that site is completed.

The Boone Grove drop-off recycling site is one of seven operated by the District that offer Porter County residents opportunities to recycle paper; glass; cardboard; metal; and plastics with numbers 1-7, excluding 6.

Drop-off recycling containers are for Porter County residents only. No commercial or small business recycling permitted.

Other Porter County drop-off recycling site locations include: Burns Harbor Street Department, 310 Navajo Trail; Chesterton, 1600 Pioneer Trail (Wise Way); Hebron Municipal Building, 125 N. Main St.; Kouts Town Garage, 406 S. Kouts. St.; Portage, Willowcreek Middle School, 5962 Central Ave.; and Valparaiso, 2168 W. U.S. 30 (Wise Way).

The Recycling and Waste Reduction District of Porter County is a government agency dedicated to improving the environment and quality of life for Porter County residents by providing convenient, voluntary waste reduction services.

The District works to promote environmental stewardship among individuals and businesses through education programs, waste reduction services and other outreach programs to meet the statutory and waste reduction goals set by the State of Indiana.

For more information on District services, visit or call 465-3694.